Wednesday, July 26, 2017

NLD sweeps Nay Pyi Taw in surprise win

A polling station in Nay Pyi Taw on April 1. Bothee / The Myanmar TimesA polling station in Nay Pyi Taw on April 1. Bothee / The Myanmar Times

As there been a bigger turnaround in electoral history than the NLD’s win in Nay Pyi Taw on April 1? That’s one for the pundits to ponder, as the party of the golden peacock triumphed in four constituencies where less than 18 months earlier their opponents, the Union Solidarity and Development Party, had won with up to 90 percent of the vote.

The NLD won the constituencies of Zabuthiri (won in 2010 by President U Thein Sein with 91.3pc of the vote), Ottarathiri (U Kyaw Swar Khine, 80pc), Dekkhinathiri (U Myint Hlaing, 90.1pc) and Pobbathiri (Thiha Thura U Tin Aung Myint Oo, 90.5pc) on April 1.

There were 184 polling stations set up across the four township with 165,058 eligible voters, according to the election commission.

Most of the victorious NLD candidates said they would focus on legal and land reform as they were the primary concerns of their constituents.

U Naing Ngan Linn, who won Dekkhinathiri with 7681 votes, said he wanted to focus on improving education standards in his constituency and also human rights issues.

“I thank all villagers who believed in me and voted for me,” he said. “The first thing that I will do in the hluttaw is to make a law to improve the livelihoods of farmers with the help of other parties. And I will submit cases of some farmers who are being persecuted.”