Wednesday, July 26, 2017

AFC Challenge Cup qualifying set

Host nation Myanmar has been placed into Group A for the qualifying stages of the 2014 AFC Challenge Cup. The national team will clash with India, Taiwan and Guam when the stage kicks off in March 2013.

The group-stage qualifying draw was held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on Saturday, December 15.

There are five groups comprised of four teams. The winners of each group as well as the second best two teams will advance to the 2014 AFC Challenge Cup together with host nation the Maldives.

Group B matches will be held March 17-21 2013; all others will be on March 2-6.

Group B is comprised of Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan and Macau. Kyrgyzstan will host the group. Group C includes Laos, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Mongolia, with Laos hosting.

Group D sees Nepal, Palestine, Bangladesh and Mauritius square off. Nepal will be the host nation.

Group E includes Philippines, Turkmenistan, Cambodia and Brunei, with Philippines serving as the host.