Friday, August 18, 2017

Civil servants off voting list in minister’s village

Following a complaint from the opposition, electoral officials in Natogyi township, Mandalay Region, have struck the names of seven voters from the electoral roll after finding that they were not residents.

The deletions occurred in Lone Taw village, the home town of Union Minister for Transport U Nyan Tun Aung.

The seven voters struck off were found to be employees of the transport ministry.

“On receiving an official complaint on November 6, we found that the seven names should not have been listed, so we deleted them,” said township electoral chief Daw Thet Mar.

The complaint was filed by the township branch of the National League for Democracy.

NLD campaign manager U Aung Thein Luu said, “The head of the village has confirmed that the seven are staff members of the transport ministry, and not residents of Lone Taw village.”

There are 410 voters, including the transport minister’s family, listed in Lone Taw village, Natogyi township, Mandalay Region.