Saturday, August 19, 2017

Mandalay townships to get new development committees

Development committees throughout Mandalay are expected to get newly appointed members this month, a regional official said.

Each of the 22 townships has a city development committee made up of a chair and three members – leaving a total of 88 positions up in the air. This is not to be confused with Mandalay City Development Committee (MCDC), which is a single muncipal entity made up of 13 elected or appointed members.

The 88 sitting development committee members were suspended as of September 30. Under the new municipal law, the development representatives’ terms were supposed to expire in conjunction with the Mandalay Region Hluttaw, Mandalay Region’s Ministry of City Development director U Min Aung Myint Soe said on October 4.

“Committee members for relevant townships have been elected,” U Min Aung Myint Soe said. “So we already have new members to substitute. Once the regional government approves of the assignments, we will appoint them.”

After the new regional government took office, it arranged to restructure the township’s city development committees.

“Restructuring the committees is a good plan,” said U Soe Naing, who ran in the Meiktila township City Development Committee election. “Elections were held to assign new members for the committee. It is transparent.”

Translation by Thiri Min Htun