Yadanarbon: We still have a chance at championship

Yadanarbon boss Rene Desaeyere said his team is still in the championship race after losing to Yangon United in the Myanmar Derby match Saturday at YUSC.

Rene’s Yadanarbon has played against Yangon, Shan and Ayeyawady in the second season. Photo - YadanarbonRene’s Yadanarbon has played against Yangon, Shan and Ayeyawady in the second season. Photo - Yadanarbon

“Even though we are seven points behind the ranking leader, our team is still in the championship race. We just needed one point in the match against Yangon United. Currently, we are several points behind the lead team, but this is just a little difficulty. Our championship dream isn’t over,” said Rene.

“In the second half of the season, we play our main rival teams in our home stadium. If we can play well in home games, we can hope to win the champions title,” he added.

Saturday’s loss in the Myanmar Derby was a double blow for the current title-holder team because the match was against its neck-and-neck rivals and the loss ended its undefeated streak. Yadanarbon surrendered second place to Shan United with the loss.

This season, Yadanarbon has a contract with only one foreign player and it’s weaker than other big teams. But Rene has no plans to contract new foreign players in the second half and will still use young players.

“Our team has only one foreigner, but I think it’s not weak for our team. We own many young local players. They should have a chance to play. I’ll keep using them in the second half. Our team has a good combination, and our young players are better than last season,” said the Belgian coach.

Yadanarbon will play big MNL teams such as Yangon United, Shan United and Ayeyawady United in the second half of the season at their home grounds in Mandalay.

10 19 20
10 10 22
10 6 21
Ayeyawady United
10 5 15
Rakhine United
10 0 14
Magwe FC
10 -2 13
Zwekapin United
10 -4 13
Nay Pyi Taw FC
10 -8 9
10 -6 8
10 -6 7
Chin United
10 -7 7
10 -7 6
Last Updated - 1 April 2017
Manaw Myay
22 51 52
22 21 49
Nay Pyi Taw FC
22 33 48
Mahar United
22 31 48
Myawady FC
22 23 36
Mawyawadi FC
22 1 35
City Stars
22 1 28
University FC
22 -17 23
Dagon FC
22 -11 20
Pong Gan
22 -37 12
United of Thanlyin
22 -47 11
Silver Stars
22 -49 10
Last Updated - 28 August 2016