Friday, October 21, 2016
The Myanmar Times
The Myanmar Times

Myanmar footballer banned for life after pitch attack

Royal Land FC’s Ye Myat Min has been handed a lifetime ban by the Myanmar Football Federation Disciplinary Committee for attacking an opponent on the pitch.

The incident occurred in the final match of the Myanmar Football Federation (MFF) futsal season on Saturday, December 15, when Royal Land took on ACE FC. The ban was issued on Wednesday, December 19.

In the second half, after falling behind and having one player sent off, Ye Myat Min expressed his frustrations by kicking ACE FC player Aung Lin Maung repeatedly in the neck. At the time he was given a red card,.

Defending Champion ACE FC had sealed their position as MFF AYA Futsal League champs with two games remaining in the season by putting an insurmountable seven points between themselves and runner-up Yangon City FC.

Despite already claiming the title, ACE still had to finish off their scheduled matches. They kept true to form with an 11 – 2 drubbing of the hapless Royal Land FC.

The match was thrilling at the start with both sides constantly attacking but it was easy for the experienced ACE FC to outplay Royal Land.

Having clinched the AYA Knockout Cup in July the futsal title is the second of the year for ACE FC, a double they enjoyed last year as well.

ACE FC’s dominance has left some futsal fans disappointed by the level of competition in the domestic game.

However, U Tin Maung Htay, ACE head coach, said that futsal players are improving, making it harder to win major tournaments.

“Futsal games are more competitive now because the players from futsal clubs are playing much better than before. The players are more technical and have international experience. We took the time to prepare ourselves throughout the year. This pushed us towards the title. Sometimes our opponents made it difficult during the first half and we knocked them down by exploiting their weak points in the second half,” U Tin Maung Htay said.

ACE pocketed 6 million Ks, while second place Yangon City FC took home half that.

Zin Lin Aung from Linsdown FC was named player was honoured as the year’s best player. Pyae Phyo Maung (Pisi) of Yangon City FC was the league’s top goal scorer. Yangon City FC received the fair play trophy.

22 34 54
22 18 40
22 9 39
Ayeyawady United
22 11 37
22 19 36
Zeyar Shwe Myay
22 5 34
22 -1 30
Zwekapin United
22 3 28
Chin United
22 -16 24
Rakhine United
22 -10 18
22 -32 14
Horizon FC
22 -40 7
Last Updated - 28 August 2016
Manaw Myay
22 51 52
22 21 49
Nay Pyi Taw FC
22 33 48
Mahar United
22 31 48
Myawady FC
22 23 36
Mawyawadi FC
22 1 35
City Stars
22 1 28
University FC
22 -17 23
Dagon FC
22 -11 20
Pong Gan
22 -37 12
United of Thanlyin
22 -47 11
Silver Stars
22 -49 10
Last Updated - 28 August 2016